Articles

To the next step…

In Life on January 2, 2013 by thebetweenthoughts

So 2013 is upon us…

Whereas last night was the time to make those last regrettable decisions of the year, today is all about new beginnings and the potential within the next 365 days.  Looking at the date in the corner of my computer (1/1/2013), I have to admit that I’m filled with hope.  I’m excited.  I’m looking forward to tomorrow (which is definitely something I couldn’t say a week ago).

The question is, what to do with this hope.  We generally channel this optimism into making lists of resolutions; resolutions which we inevitably fail at achieving since nothing really changes about us once the clock strikes midnight on December 31st.  It’s still nice to have that hope though…to believe in yourself and your ability to transform your life.  Is there a better way to use this hope?  Do we have to waste it on our unrealistic resolutions and goals?  How do we maintain this feeling of potential success throughout the year?

I have no clue.  ;P

But I do have an idea on how to instill some sense of accountability to my New Year’s Resolutions…I’m going to post my resolution here.  Public admission and public condemnation are the classic methods for creating personal accountability.  I will admit that I’m going to make it easy on myself though – not by restricting the aspirational range of the resolution, but by limiting it to only one.  It’s an important one though, one resolution that I make to myself (and fail horribly at) each year.

I need to write something of note.

By the end of this year, something important…something profound…something substantial needs to be produced.  I think I’ve exhausted all of my excuses (many times over) and now it’s time to finally fulfill the promise I made when I first moved to New York City.

Feel free to berate my at every turn…to heckle me when you see me idle.

2013 – The Year I Finally Get Shit Done

;P

 

Leave a Reply

thenerdsofcolor

Pop Culture with a Different Perspective

FiveThirtyEight

Nate Silver’s FiveThirtyEight uses statistical analysis — hard numbers — to tell compelling stories about politics, sports, science, economics and culture.

Data for Breakfast

Ideas and Insights from the Data Team at Automattic

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

